Tags

John Dewey (1916) in Democracy and Education said, “it is the aim of progressive education to take part in correcting unfair privilege and unfair deprivation, not to perpetuate them”. I believe this is still the intention of the public school system. I am a constructivist who believes in equity to reach equality. My goal is to provide policies that underpin excellent education; replete with empathy, kindness, stability, and meaning. Meaning provides inspiration and the desire to learn; without inspiration, children will be what we tell them to be. When motivated intrinsically, children will rise to the challenge of our rigorous standards. Children will learn about their own set of skills. They will be guided and assessed authentically, in order that they develop their strengths as learners and future members of society.

Read more about my campaign and how you can get involved to help me change public education. Stacie P Dern for Duval County School Board seat 7

